How to stay warm this winter

A while ago I bought a neck heating pad which has been very helpful in keeping me warm this winter. However, I wanted something smaller for my hands and feet. I figured out an easy way to make my own, and it literally took only 30 minutes to make both. It was THAT easy.

Finished product

DIY Small heating pads

 

TUTORIAL

Step 1 : Cut 2 pieces of rectangular thick cotton fabric. I used a jean material I had left over from another project.

Step 2 : Take 1 piece of fabric and fold it in half with the right sides together. Then sew all around, leaving a small space on one of the sides. Use the smallest size stitch on your machine, or if sewing by hand, keep the stitches very small. The space left is to insert the ‘Peeled Wheat’.

Folded and stiched fabric with small space

Step 3 : Turn the fabric inside out, using the small opening. The smaller the opening left, the harder this is to do, however, the better the finished result will look.

Step 4 : Using a funnel, or a cone which you can fashion out of an old envelope or even paper, insert some ‘Peel Wheat’ (the stuff used for harees) into the pouch opening, until it is 2/3 full.

Peeled wheat & envelope funnel

Step 5 : Fold in the edges of the opening and using a needle and thick thread (or just double normal thread) sew the opening closed using small & close stitches. That’s it! You’re done!

Sew the opening closed

How to use : Just pop them in the microwave or oven till hot, then you can slip them in your socks, slippers, boots or gloves to keep you warm. They can also be used to sooth any aches or pains. They will retain their heat for about an hour depending on how much you heat them.

 

Hope you enjoyed today’s tutorial and if you have any questions feel free to ask. I would love to see any of your finished products, please do email me pictures.

 

 

This entry was posted in DIY, Tutorial. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How to stay warm this winter

  1. newbride says:

    wooow so in love with your blog 🙂 great ideas and stuff

  2. NO.22 says:

    Thank you, I am a fan of your blog too 🙂

Comments are closed.